Schweinebraten (German Pork Loin Roast)

Nurnburger Glühwein

So Schweinebraten is probably one of the most popular meat dishes in Germany (at least Bavaria) and it is one that we have often for a large family gathering. My Oma is German, from Nuremberg, and this is her simple recipe for a traditional Bavarian Schweinebraten. This is the super simplified version using a lean pork loin. Traditionally its best to make the Schweinebraten with a pork butt or a pork shoulder that still has a little of the fat and skin on top. The skin on the top is cut in a criss-cross pattern and cooked until it is crispy. Many of the authentic German flavors include cloves, juniper berries or mustard seed. My grandmother always like to keep the flavor of the meat simple, and that is my favorite way of preparing it simply because its grandmothers cooking. Try as many “authentic” versions of this recipe as you can if you are an avid meat-eater, you really can’t go wrong.

Usually this recipe accompanies some kind of dumpling, usually potato or bread (or sometimes both). I am biased towards kartoffelknödel (potato dumplings) because that’s what was served in our household. Maybe one day I will try my hand at another Bavarian recipe of Schweinebraten but for today I am going to share my families recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lean Pork loin
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • garlic salt
  • Carrots, Leeks, Potatoes, and Onions for roasting (or any other kind of vegetable you like)
  • Olive Oil

Always bring your meat up to room temperature before you cook with it (i’m not exactly sure why if anyone wants to care to explain it to me. It was just told to me by my mother and I followed it). The secret to our perfect pork roast is the garlic. Cut the garlic gloves into long thin spires.2 cloves should be more than enough for a roast feeding about four people.

DSC_0002

The first thing you do with the pork loin is to cut little holes in the meat with a sharp knife. Make the holes about a half inch to an inch apart. Insert the garlic pieces into the holes in the meat. Repeat this until all of the holes are filled. I love garlic so I tend to shove a lot in there.

DSC_0006

Place it in a roasting pan with olive oil and all of the vegetables you want to roast with. The oven should be preheated to 400F. I only used carrots and onions this time, because my roommate hates celery and it was the only thing I had around. Leeks are especially good! Aside from delicious roasted vegetables, they are useful to have when cooking meat because they help make the stock used for the gravy. Traditional Schweinebraten is always eaten swimming in gravy.

DSC_0010

When the oven is ready, place the pork inside and cook for about 55 minutes. Remove the pork from the oven  and place it to rest on a cutting board or serving platter. Let the meat stand for about 10 minutes. Always wait for you meat to rest before slicing. If you slice too soon it will release all of the juices in the meat and leave the meat really dry. Remove the veggies from the dish. You should have a lovely veggie/meat juice left. If you are baking in a dish that is not stove-top friendly place the meat broth in a stove-top pot. Add in some salt, pepper, flour (to thicken) and maggi (not necessary but we never cook port roast without it).

Slice the meat and serve!

DSC_0015

I just made boiled potatoes and a simple salad to accompany the roast and carrots. I didn’t have the time to make the kartoffelknödel from scratch but don’t worry the recipe is coming! Instead try it with a traditional German potato salad or Kartoffelsalat.

What are some of your families meaty recipes? What do you love to eat with your pork roast?

2 thoughts on “Schweinebraten (German Pork Loin Roast)

  1. Just wanted to say, the reason why you let the meat get to room temp. is so it will cook faster and more even. This recipe sounds good. I think I’ll have to try it.

Leave a comment